The European Union has always been concerned with the diffusion and promotion of the European idea.

The firsts European Documentation Centres were created in 1963. Their main goals were to promote and develop education and research on European integration.

Eleven years later and on the premises of Universidade de Coimbra, the first Portuguese EDC was founded. Another 18 EDCs, which make up the actual PNEDC, where established form 1974 until 2001.


Year EDC
1974 Universidade de Coimbra
1978 Universidade de Lisboa
1979 Universidade Católica Portuguesa – Lisboa
1980 Instituto Nacional de Administração
1981 Universidade dos Açores
Universidade do Porto
1986 Universidade do Minho
Universidade Técnica de Lisboa
1987 Universidade Nova de Lisboa
1989 Universidade Lusíada de Lisboa
1990 Universidade de Évora
1992 Universidade da Beira Interior
1995 Universidade do Algarve
Universidade da Madeira
1996 Universidade Lusíada do Porto
1997 Universidade Católica Portuguesa – Porto
2000 Instituto Politécnico de Leiria
2001 Instituto Politécnico de Beja
Universidade de Aveiro


Has four EDCs



Has four EDCs


Lisbon and Tagus Valley

Has six EDCs



Has two EDCs



Has one EDC


The Azores

Has one EDC 



Has one EDC